top of page



Prior to 1947 the Royal Indian Air Force was an Auxiliary of the RAF using the RAF Roundel.
In 1947, India became an independent Dominion of the Commonwealth and continued to use the title Royal Indian Air Force but in June 1948 it adopted the Chakra Roundel. In 1950, India declared itself a Republic and renamed the air force as the Bharatiya Vayu Sena (Indian Air Force) and changed the roundel to the current  saffron, white and green version.

bottom of page